The Understanding America Study itself dates back to 2013, but the team behind the UAS has worked on similar projects for a long time. To learn more about a team member’s expertise just click a person’s name.

Arie Kapteyn is the director of the Understanding America Study, overseeing the entirety of the panel, from its organizational to its technical aspects. He also conducts his own surveys in the UAS.

310.448.5383kapteyn@dornsife.usc.edu

Tania Gutsche is the study manager of the UAS, coordinating all survey work for the UAS, handling contractual matters for UAS and hosting projects using Nubis, managing human subjects applications, new business, and supervising the helpdesk team.

310.448.0371tgutsche@dornsife.usc.edu

Bas Weerman is responsible for the implementation and management of a variety of data collection projects as well as the development and maintenance of the overall panel infrastructure.

basweerman@gmail.com

Bart Orriens plays a key role in the development of the UAS’ surveying software NubiS. He also steers the UAS overall data dissemination processes.

orriens@usc.edu

Jill Darling is the UAS Survey Director. She oversees the UAS sample recruitment process and steers the UAS Omnibus Surveys. Jill also interacts frequently with clients, external parties (such as media), and the USC Institutional Review Board (IRB).

213.821.8901jilldarl@usc.edu@usc.edu

Swaroop Samek focuses on UAS projects involving supplementing survey data with information from other data sources.

213.821.4725ssamek@usc.edu

Marco Angrisani is one of the UAS' methodological experts focusing on survey sample selection and UAS data sets weighing.

213.821.2793angrisan@usc.edu@usc.edu

Erik Meijer provides invaluable assistance to the UAS with regard to UAS sample recruitment in relation to its representativeness of the overall United States population.

213.821.4725meijer.usc@gmail.com

Michael Moldoff provides programming for UAS surveys. He is also responsible for the UAS HRS data cleaning processes.

213.821.2738mmoldoff@usc.edu

Katherine Zhong assists with the UAS HRS data cleaning processes.

213.821.8810qinglinz@usc.edu

Tina Vuong is the UAS Study Coordinator. She provides technical and logistical support to UAS respondents. She also aids with any panel management activities undertaken by the UAS (e.g. recruitment, mailings, and etceteras).

213.821.1794tinavuon@usc.edu

Maribel Estrada provides assistance with the UAS Help Desk, survey translation and survey testing.

213.821.1777maribele@usc.edu

Luz Antunez Castillo and Sara Burnett provide assistance with the UAS Help Desk, survey translation and survey testing.

213.821.1768antunez@usc.edu

Yadira Garcia provides assistance with the UAS Help Desk, survey translation and survey testing.

213.821.0084yegarcia@usc.edu